Home > Background > Introductions

Introductions

September 22, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

A few things about what I intend for this blog.  Mainly, it’s going to be for reviews.  That’s it.  No pictures of cats, no notes about my everyday life, very few essays/rants/moments of navelgazing, very little industry news (that’s already amply covered by some of the blogs in my sidebar).  Just reviews of romance novels, mostly (but I’m not going to say only) category romances.

You know the kind, the ones that get sold in bookstores, big box stores, convenience stores, supermarkets…the kind that people tend to mean when they say “Harlequin” (though they could be a Silhouette, or a Mills & Boon…but then Harlequin owns those lines).  The little ones, the ones that change every month, providing so much material for reviewing.   I love them as they only take a couple hours to read, and as Wendy the Super Librarian says, they’re “all of the romance, none of the bullshit” (of course, can I find that quote now so I can link to it?  No, of course not).  I may review some longer romance novels occasionally, but for the most part it’ll be these wee things.

Also, as I’ll be buying/borrowing my own books, I’m going to go with what interests me.  Yes, that means that certain lines won’t be represented (paranormals, 99% of the Harlequin Presents line and others of its ilk), but I’m more than willing to have guest reviewers for those.

And as for those reviews, here’s the rating system I’m going with:

A – OMG LOVE.  Very few problems and minor ones at that, definitely keeping and rereading.
B – Pretty good.  A few things that bugged, but they’re somewhat believable and the problems were balanced by some good parts. Probably keep it to reread it once or twice before I get rid of it.
C – Meh.  Fun ride, but it had problems.  Not sorry I read it, really, but not a keeper.
D – Ugh, had some good elements but way outweighed by the problems.
F – OMG WTF ARE YOU SHITTING ME.  KILL IT.  KILL IT WITH FIRE.

Obviously there is a fair bit of wiggle room with this system, but then I’ll be going on to explain my reasons for the grade when I do the review.  And expect some snark.  I love romance novels, but really, some deserve the snarking, and I’m not going to play all happyfuzzy when I read something that sucks.

So there you have it; the blog’s mission statment as it were.  Hoping to jump right in and start with the reviews tomorrow, though don’t expect a regular posting schedule.  That’s going to depend on how much reading I can get done in a given week.  We’ll see how it goes.

Categories: Background Tags:
  1. October 21, 2009 at 11:42 AM | #1

    Well you couldn’t find my very insightful quote (heh), because I didn’t say it on my blog. It was a comment I left on someone else’s blog – and, here it is:

    http://lurvalamode.wordpress.com/2009/08/13/category-romance-sit-down/#comment-5713

    • Karen
      October 21, 2009 at 4:31 PM | #2

      LOL thanks, Wendy. That’s the one problem with reading so many blogs in Google Reader–I remember stuff that I read but never have any visual cues to go on when I want to remember where I read it. :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

